Chris Noth crowned Cigar Smoker of the year 2018

Chris Noth Crowned UK Cigar Smoker Of The Year 2018

Monday 3rd December saw Boisdale of Canary Wharf honor both cigar enthusiasts and celebrity cigar smokers from around the world at the esteemed Viña Carmen Cigar Smoker of the Year Awards Dinner 2018.

Hollywood and silver screen star Chris Noth was awarded the ultimate recognition of the night and announced the Viña Carmen Cigar Smoker Of The Year 2018, whilst legendary British actor and Academy Award winner Jeremy Irons scooped the Boisdale Lifetime Achievement Award.

The glamorous evening, hosted by Tom Parker Bowles and Ranald Macdonald, saw the good and the great – from British acting royalty through to Hollywood stars – attend the celebrations, with guests including: 2016 Cigar Smoker of the Year winner Kelsey Grammer and wife Kayte; singer songwriter Rebecca Ferguson who performed on the evening; entrepreneur Nancy Dell’Ollio; Cuban Ambassador, her Excellency, Mrs Teresita de Jesús Vicente Sotolongo; Ricardo Coriani, Deputy Head of Mission for the Nicaraguan Embassy; George Herbert, Earl of Carnarvon, owner of Highclere Castle, the setting for the television drama Downton Abbey; the Madness of King George film producer Stephen Evans as well as Love Island reality television show stars Rosie Williams and Charlie Brake.

The global cigar community was well represented by Jemma Freeman MD of Hunters & Frankau, the exclusive importers of Cuban cigars to the UK; Daniel Marshall of Daniel Marshall Cigars fame, the Earl of Carnarvon, who has just launched Highclere Castle Cigars; Mitchel Orchant MD of the UK’s largest cigar distributor C.Gars Ltd, and Scott Vines of Tor Cigar Imports. All in all, 240 cigar smokers gathered and approximately 920 cigars were smoked on the Cigar Terrace.

Categories & Nominees 2018

  • Cigar Smoker of the Year – Chris Noth – presented by Jorrit Gerritsma
  • Nominees: Stephen Evans; Jeremy Irons; Lennox Lewis; Jeremy Piven; Chris Noth, Mickey Rourke
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Jeremy Irons – presented – by Edward Sahakian
  • Cigar of the Year – Davidoff Late Hour Churchill
  • Cigar Terrace or Cigar Lounge of the Year – The Arts Club
  • Cigar Writer of the Year – Tobias Gorn
  • The Cigar Retailer of the Year – James J. Fox
  • The Cigar Producer of the Year – Joya De Nicaragua



    Related posts



    Get the latest cigar news monthly.

    Enter your email and join the global Cigar Journal family.


    By pressing the ‚I AM OF LEGAL AGE‘ button, I agree that I am of legal age for smoking and drinking in my country.

    Send this to a friend