CSWC Austria

After last year’s third place Daniel Friedenthaler reclaimed the title of Austrian slow smoking champion. Friedenthaler who finished third in the 2019 grand finale and has the 8th best time of all times made it into this season’s top 20 list with the winning time of 2 hours 13 minutes and 36 seconds. He won despite receiving a ten minute penalty for losing ash in the first 20 minutes.

“Winning again is a remarkable achievement,” founder Marko Bilic says. “It solidifies his position as one of the top 20 best smokers of all time. As we look ahead to the grand finale of 2023 we can expect nothing short of greatness from this seasoned champion.”

Last year Oliver Walla won by one of the smallest margins that season, 36 seconds. This year he had to settle for second place at 1 hour 51 minutes and 24 seconds. Third place went to Reinhard Bösenkopf.

1. Daniel Friedenthal 2:18:36
2. Oliver Walla 1:51:24
3. Reinhard Bösenkopf 1:50:32

Nachdem Simon Lundh 2005 sein Ingenieursdiplom in Vermessungstechnik erwarb, entschied er sich für eine journalistische Laufbahn. Er entdeckte die Welt der Zigarren während er für eine nichtstaatliche Organisation in Estelí, Nicaragua, arbeitete und verdient seinen Lebensunterhalt nun größtenteils mit Artikeln über Zigarren, Metal Music und Tattoos sowie Reiseberichten.


    Related posts



    Get the latest cigar news monthly.

    Enter your email and join the global Cigar Journal family.


    By pressing the ‚I AM OF LEGAL AGE‘ button, I agree that I am of legal age for smoking and drinking in my country.

    Send this to a friend